You are here

Book Group: Current Books

  • 02/19/2018 - 2:00pm

    The Jefferson Center Book Group meets on the third MONDAY of the month, 2-4 pm, at The Jefferson Center, in the Old Ashland Armory at 208 Oak Street, suite 101.

    From Amazon:

    In American Amnesia, bestselling political scientists Jacob S. Hacker and Paul Pierson trace the economic and political history of the United States over the last century and show how a viable mixed economy has long been the dominant engine of America’s prosperity. We have largely forgotten this reliance, as many political circles and corporate actors have come to mistakenly see government as a hindrance rather than the propeller it once was. “American Amnesia” is more than a rhetorical phrase; elites have literally forgotten, or at least forgotten to talk about, the essential role of public authority in achieving big positive-sum bargains in advanced societies.

    Here is the link to the book on amazon: https://www.amazon.com/American-Amnesia-Government-America-Prosper/dp/14...

  • 03/19/2018 - 2:00pm

    The Jefferson Center Book Group meets on the third MONDAY of the month, 2-4 pm, at The Jefferson Center, in the Old Ashland Armory at 208 Oak Street, suite 101.

    From Amazon:

    In this smart, funny, impassioned call to arms, a pop culture critic merges memoir and commentary to explore how our culture shapes ideas about who women are, what they are meant to be, and where they belong.
    Who is "the girl"? Look to movies, TV shows, magazines, and ads and the message is both clear and not: she is a sexed up sidekick, a princess waiting to be saved, a morally infallible angel with no opinions of her own. She's whatever the hero needs her to be in order to become himself. She's an abstraction, an ideal, a standard, a mercurial phantom.

    From the moment we’re born, we're told stories about what girls are and they aren’t, what girls want and what they don’t, what girls can be and what they can’t. "The girl" looms over us like a toxic cloud, permeating everything and confusing our sense of reality. In You Play the Girl, Carina Chocano shows how we metabolize the subtle, fragmented messages embedded in our everyday experience and how our identity is shaped by them.

    From Bugs Bunny to Playboy Bunnies, from Flashdance to Frozen, from the progressive ’70s through the backlash ’80s, the glib ’90s, and the pornified aughts—and at stops in between—Chocano blends formative personal stories with insightful and emotionally powerful analysis. She explains how growing up in the shadow of “the girl” taught her to think about herself and the world and what it means to raise a daughter in the face of these contorted reflections. In the tradition of Roxane Gay, Rebecca Solnit, and Susan Sontag, Chocano brilliantly shows that our identities are more fluid than we think, and certainly more complex than anything we see on any kind of screen.

    Here is the link to the book on amazon: https://www.amazon.com/You-Play-Girl-Stepford-Messages/dp/0544648943/ref...

Book Group Information

The Jefferson Center Book Group meets on the third MONDAY of the month, 2-4 pm, at The Jefferson Center, in the Old Ashland Armory at 208 Oak Street, suite 101. All are welcome. Join us if you love to read and discuss books! We are group #17 at Bloomsbury’s if you choose to get your books there. Note that we have switched our meeting date to Monday beginning October 20, 2014.

The Jefferson Center Library
A small collection of writings on religion and non-religion, philosophy, history and science is housed at the Jeff Center . When you visit for an event, have a look. Books and re-prints can be checked out by members of the Jeff Center using the checkout sheet. If you have a book you’d like to contribute to our library, bring it in.